Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic

Life and Health

Contact Information

Life and Health Directory

Physical Address:
Dobbs Building
430 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh NC 27603-5926

Mailing Address:
NC Department of Insurance
Life & Health
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-1201

Ted Hamby
Deputy Commissioner
919-807-6056
919-715-3547
ted.hamby@ncdoi.gov
Ted directs and monitors insurance laws pertaining to life and health insurance, policy form and rate approval, and operational efficiencies.
Joanna Pelezo
Administrative Assistant
919-807-6056
919-715-3547
joanna.pelezo@ncdoi.gov
Joanna provides support to the Deputy Commissioner.
Jean Holliday
Regulatory Project Manager and Health Care Reform Supervisor
919-807-6061
919-715-3547
jean.holliday@ncdoi.gov
Jean assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in the federal Affordable Care Act, HIPAA, and Small Employer Group Health. Additionally, she is the primary resource for projects and work assignments delegated by the Department's Technical Services Group Senior Management and the Chief Deputy.
Garlinda Taylor
Insurance Regulatory Supervisor
919-807-6059
919-715-3547
garlinda.taylor@ncdoi.gov
Garlinda assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in Medicare Supplement, Medicare Select, Medicare Advantage Certification, Retiree Coverage Plans, Long-Term Care (LTC) HMO licensing, Provider Networks and Managed Care Agreements, MEWA licensing, Dental, and Managed Care product filings.
Rebecca Hill
Insurance Regulatory Supervisor
919-807-6060
919-715-3547
rebecca.hill@ncdoi.gov
Rebecca assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in Life, Blanket, Limited Health and Disability Insurance, Stop Loss Insurance, Association Group, TPA Registration and Licensing, and Viatical Settlements forms.
Cara Shackelford
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6064
919-715-3547
cara.shackelford@ncdoi.gov
Cara is the primary contact for Credit Life and Credit Health form and rate filings and Charitable Gift Annuities.
Yolanda Fonville
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6071
919-715-3547
yolanda.fonville@ncdoi.gov
Yolanda is the primary contact for health care reform, general health and disability questions.
Phyllis Wyrick
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6069
919-715-3547
phyllis.wyrick@ncdoi.gov
Phyllis is a contact for HMO licensing, license modifications; notifications; initial PPO network filings; PPO network addition filings; review and approval of HMO and PPO provider, intermediary, management form contracts, Medicare Select Operational Filings, and primary contact for MEWA filings.
Snezana Vukina
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6068
919-715-3547
snezana.vukina@ncdoi.gov
Snezana is a contact for HMO licensing, license modifications; notifications; initial PPO network filings; PPO network addition filings; review and approval of HMO and PPO provider, intermediary, management form contracts, and primary contact for Medical Service Corporations form filings.
Rosemary Gillespie
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6070
919-715-3547
rosemary.gillespie@ncdoi.gov
Rosemary is the lead analyst on the federal Affordable Care Act form and rate submissions. In addition, she is the primary contact for HMO, POS, and PPO and Small Employer Group form and rate submissions.
Michael DiPierro
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6073
919-715-3547
michael.dipierro@ncdoi.gov
Micheal is the primary contact for information on LTC form and rate filings, including LTC Partnership form and rate filings.
Don McAdams
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6063
919-715-3547
don.mcadams@ncdoi.gov
Don is the primary contact for general life form and rate filings and Third Party Administrator and Viatical Settlement Provider licensing.
Mary Jo Wegenast
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6065
919-715-3547
maryjo.wegenast@ncdoi.gov
Mary Jo is the primary contact for Medicare Supplement form and rate filings, Medicare Select product filings, and Retiree Coverage Plans.
Edna Cross
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6066
919-715-3547
edna.cross@ncdoi.gov
Edna is the primary contact for TPAs and general health form and rate filings.
Chris Cassady
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6072
919-715-3547
chris.cassady@ncdoi.gov
Chris handles general accident or health insurance and health insurance rates
Charles Washington
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6062
919-715-3547
charles.washington@ncdoi.gov
Charles answers questions about general accident and health insurance; health care reform, and health insurance rates.