Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 

Engineering and Codes

resources

Engineering and Codes » Code Enforcement Resources

Code Enforcement Resources

Contacts

Mark G. Bailey
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.226
Mark.Bailey@ncdoi.gov
Provides plan review for city and county buildings in accordance with General Statute 58-31-40 and provides interpretations for compliance with the North Carolina State Building Code.
Melanie B Butler
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.502
Melanie.Butler@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Codes and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Ron Chilton
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.235
Ron.chilton@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Electrical Code and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Dan Dittman, PE
Engineering and Codes
Chief Mechanical Code Consultant
Chief Energy Code Consultant

(919) 661-5880 ext.237
Dan.Dittman@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Mechanical and Energy Codes and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Billy G. Hinton, Jr., PE
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.239
Billy.Hinton@ncdoi.gov
Reviews complex designs or programs for compliance with the code with a specialty of energy conservation and mechanical systems.
Cliff Isaac, PE
Engineering and Codes
Investigator
(919)661-5880 ext.248
Cliff.Isaac@ncdoi.gov
Serves as staff to the North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board, and investigates complaints against code enforcement officials. Certified inspector.
Jeff Kanner, RA
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.243
Jeff.Kanner@ncdoi.gov
Provides plan review for city and county buildings in accordance with General Statute 58-31-40 and provides interpretations for compliance with the North Carolina State Building Code.
Beverly S. Lott
Engineering and Codes
Administrative Assistant
(919)661-5880 ext.230
Beverly.Lott@ncdoi.gov
Serves as Office Assistant to the code consultants in the private plan review section, processes all plan submissions, provides typing for correspondence and maintains records and the database for the section.
Carl P. Martin
Engineering and Codes
Chief Building Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.225
Carl.Martin@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Building Code and the consistent enforcement within the state.
William H. Moeller, PE
Engineering and Codes
Chief Plumbing Code Consultant
Chief Fuel Gas Code Consultant

(919)661-5880 ext.238
Bill.Moeller@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Plumbing and Fuel Gas Codes and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Timothy A. Morrison, PE
Engineering and Codes
Plan Review Section Supervisor
(919)661-5880 ext.228
Tim.Morrison@ncdoi.gov
Supervises Plan Review Section, provides plan review and interpretations for compliance with the North Carolina State Building Code.
Frank M. Page, Jr., PE
Engineering and Codes
Supervisor
(919)661-5880 ext.246
Mike.Page@ncdoi.gov
Supervise the Code Interpretation Section, responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Administrative Code and Policies and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Natalie Pollard
Engineering and Codes
Education and Training Coordinator
(919)661-5880 ext. 259
Natalie.Pollard@ncdoi.gov
Serves as staff to the North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board and handles education procedures for code enforcement officials in accordance with the Board Rules.
Robert A. Speed, PE
Engineering and Codes
Code Consultant
(919)661-5880 ext.224
Bob.Speed@ncdoi.gov
Reviews complex designs or programs for compliance with the code with a specialty of structure.
Richard Strickland
Engineering and Codes
Chief Fire Code Consultant
919-661-5880 ext.255
Richard.Strickland@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to the NC Fire Code and the consistent enforcement within the state.
Suzanne Taylor
Engineering and Codes
Investigator
(919)661-5880 ext.504
Suzanne.Taylor@ncdoi.gov
Serves as staff to the North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board, and investigates complaints against code enforcement officials. Certified inspector.
Sarah van Doornewaard
Engineering and Codes
Administrative Assistant
(919)661-5880 ext.256
Sarah.vanDoornewaard@ncdoi.gov
Serves as staff to the North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board, and assists with certification and examination procedures for code enforcement officials in accordance with the Board Rules.
Kathryn M. Williams
Engineering and Codes
Supervisor
(919) 661-5880 ext.245
Kathy.Williams@ncdoi.gov
Serves as staff to the North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board, and supervises certification division, including education and examination procedures for code enforcement officials in accordance with the Board Rules.
Laurel W. Wright
Engineering and Codes
Chief Accessibility Code Consultant
(919) 661-5880 ext.247
Laurel.Wright@ncdoi.gov
Responsible for interpretations relative to Accessibility within the NC Building Code and the consistent enforcement within the state.

Physical Location

Chapanoke Building
322 Chapanoke Rd
Raleigh, NC 27603
Map and Driving Directions

Mailing Address

1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202

Phone Numbers

(919) 661-5880
(800) 634-7854 (Toll free)

Engineering and Codes

The Engineering and Codes Division is comprised of the following sections: Interpretations, Enforcement Service, Evaluation Services, , Home Inspectors Licensing Board and Private Plan Review, NC Building Code Council, NC Code Official Qualifications Board and NC Home Inspectors Licensing Board as well as Staff information.

Fax: 919-662-4414 (Engineering)
Fax: 919-662-4459 (Home Inspectors Licensure Board)
Fax: 919-661-3193 (Code Officials Qualification Board)
Engineering Directory

Regional Offices

The purpose of the regional offices is to serve the citizens and governmental officials and staff of the Eastern and Westernmost part of the state in any and all matters related to any and all divisions of the Department of Insurance.

Eastern Office

Western Office

Webmaster

If you are having problems or need assistance with this Website, please use the contact information below.

Cory Redick