Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 
notice

We have moved to the Albemarle Building on 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC. Our mailing address will still be 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202. Please call our main number for assistance – 919-647-0000.

Fire Safety Programs

Fire Safety Programs » 

1.3g Pyrotechnic License - Assistant

  • Must be 18 yrs of age,
  • Submit online Application (and include/attach all the following information within the online application):
    • Color Photo; 2"x2", taken within last six months(Example: Passport photo)
    • Copy of Driver License/Government Issued ID,
    • Affidavit (must be Ink seal Notarized, raised seals can not be uploaded),
    • ATF Questions Answered and Digitally Signed or EPQ ( Employer Possessor Questionnaire form)
    • ATF License number (Individual/Employer) and expiration date
    • ATF Clearance verification (FEDERAL REGULATIONS REGARDING RESPONSIBLE PARTIES REQUIRE ALL 1.3 LICENSED PYROTECHNIC OPERATORS AND ASSISTANTS TO HAVE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: (A) A BATFE LICENSE OR PERMIT, (B) A LETTER OF CLEARANCE AND AN "EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT FROM THE LICENSE HOLDER UNDERWHICH YOU ARE CONTRACTED OR EMPLOYED, (C) AN EMPLOYEE POSSESSOR QUESTIONNAIRE AND AN "EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT" FROM THE LICENSE HOLDER UNDER WHICH YOU ARE CONTRACTED OR EMPLOYED.) LICENSES RECEIVED BY PROVIDING AN "EMPLOYEE POSSESSOR QUESTIONAIRE" WILL RESULT IN A SIX MONTH REVIEW OF THE LICENSE UNITL DOCUMENTATION FROM THE BATFE IS RECEIVED. THE LICENSED OPERATOR IS RESPONSIBLE FOR PROVIDING DOCUMENTATION OF THEIR LETTER OF CLEARANCE UPON RECEIPT.
    • Copy of Professional Licenses held in other states; photocopy all listed licenses if applying for reciprocity.
  • 1.3 Assistant Application Fee Payment of $30.00 with a testing fee of $10.00. Mail check or money order payable to "The North Carolina Department of Insurance."
    North Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal
    Attn: Pyrotechnic Licensing
    1202 Mail Service Center
    Raleigh NC, 27699-1202
    APPLICATION FEES and TESTING FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND EXPIRE AFTER ONE YEAR OF INACTIVITY.
  • Once application is received and approved, you will receive notification of approval to test and MUST pay testing fee prior to being eligible to test.
    The individual successfully passes an examination approved by the State Fire Marshal that demonstrates the individual has the knowledge to safely handle, store, and exhibit Class 1.4g, 1.3g, 1.2g, and 1.1g pyrotechnics or provides satisfactory evidence of current certification by a third party acceptable to the State Fire Marshal(Reciprocity- must upload copies of all current out of state licenses to show as proof).

1.3g Operator Assistants Renewals

Renewals require 12 hours of continuing education and a minimum of three shoots over the three year licensing period. Your Renewal Application should include verification of your 12 hours of Continuing Education and and all required documents listed above.

NC Operator's Assistant Permit without examination

All valid out of state Pyrotechnic and/or Proximate Operator license holders will automatically qualify for a North Carolina Operator's Assistant Permit without examination. An Assistant's application and all of the supporting documentation, as well as a $30 application fee will be required prior to the issuance of an Assistant's Permit.

North Carolina Law allows properly credentialed "Event Employees" to handle pyrotechnic materials. See the Event Employee certification page for more information.