Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 
notice

We are in the process of moving and changing our phone system. Please reach us at 919-647-0000

Risk Management

Contacts

919-647-0000
800-634-7854 (toll free)

Physical Address:
116 West Jones Street
Raleigh NC 27603

Mailing Address:
Office of State Fire Marshal
Risk Management
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-1201

Richard Bolyard
Loss Control and Claims Specialist
919-647-0070
richard.bolyard@ncdoi.gov
Richard is the contact for State property loss reporting. He resolves claims and works with State agencies on measures to control losses. He can also assist with property insurance coverage questions.
Pat Howell
Processing Assistant V
919-647-0069
pat.howell@ncdoi.gov
Pat handles billings and accounts receivable for property insurance provided by the State Property Fire Insurance Fund. Confers with State agencies and universities on property insurance values and coverages. She is secretary for the State Building Code Enforcement Officers and serves as our PC expert.
Misty Wade
Processing Assistant IV
919-647-0068
misty.wade@ncdoi.gov
Misty maintains the computer database for the State Property Fire Insurance Fund. Handles accounts receivable for automobile liability insurance. She is secretary for Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission and the State Building Code Enforcement Officers.
Bryan K. Heckle
Director
919-647-0059
bryan.heckle@ncdoi.gov
Directs the Risk Management Division and supervises Division staff. He also oversees the State Property Fire Insurance Fund and other State insurance matters, including motor vehicle coverage and liability coverage, provides risk management consulting for State Agencies and Universities, and is liaison with the Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission.
Monna Gillespie
Receptionist
919-647-0001
919-662-4414

monna.gillespie@ncdoi.gov
Code Book Sales and Reception
Dean Andrews
State Building Code Enforcement Supervisor
919-647-0063
dean.andrews@ncdoi.gov
Dean supervises the Building Inspection Section. Performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes FSU, UNC-P and major State facilities in Wake County.
Tommy Green
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0071
919-218-0811 (Cell)
tommy.green@ncdoi.gov
Tommy provides interpretations and answers questions on the North Carolina State Electrical Code and provides support, education and training for local electrical inspection departments. He also inspects DOT electrical installations on the State’s streets and highways
Janet Whittaker
State Building Code Enforcement Supervisor
919-647-0064
919-810-5511 (Cell)
janet.whittaker@ncdoi.gov
Janet supervises the Electrical Inspection Section. Provides interpretations and answers questions on the North Carolina State Electrical Code and provides support, education and training for local electrical inspection departments.
Ken Houglan
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0066
ken.houglan@ncdoi.gov
Ken performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes UNC-G, NCA&T, WSSU, and UNC-C.
David McCracken
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0062
david.mccracken@ncdoi.gov
Dave performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes ECU, UNC-W, both State Ports, and major facilities in Lenoir and Wayne Counties.
Jeff King
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0065
jeff.king@ncdoi.gov
Jeff performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes NCSU, ECSU and the State government complex in Raleigh.
Wilson Sawyer
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0069
wilson.sawyer@ncdoi.gov
Wilson performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSSM and the major State facilities at Butner.
Mark Case
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0067
mark.case@ncdoi.gov
Mark performs regular fire and safety inspections of State facilities and provides technical assistance to agencies on achieving Code compliance. His assigned territory includes ASU, UNC-A, WCU, and the major State facilities in Burke County.
Chris Faucette
State Building Code Enforcement Officer
919-647-0061
chris.faucette@ncdoi.gov
Chris provides interpretations and answers questions on the North Carolina State Electrical Code and provides support, education and training for local electrical inspection departments. He also inspects DOT electrical installations on the State’s streets and highways.