Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 
notice

We have moved to the Albemarle Building on 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC. Our mailing address will still be 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202. Please call our main number for assistance – 919-647-0000.

Risk Management

POELIC

Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission

Background & Mission

The POELIC was created by the Legislature in 1979, following a study commission of the need of law enforcement personnel and local governments for professional liability insurance. This Commission has broad power for public official & law enforcement liability coverages and meets on a quarterly basis to carry out its responsibilities.

This Commission also has statutory responsibility for excess liability insurance covering state, university, and community college employees which are covered under the Defense of State Employees Act, Article 31A of NCGS 143.

All Commission members are appointed and are not paid salaries. The Risk Management Division of the Department of Insurance provides staff, conducts research, and performs administrative duties for this Commission.

Statutory Regulations

NCGS 58-32-1 to 58-32-30 – Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission (Article 32)

COMMISSION MEMBERS
NC ASSN. OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
Mr. Michael Kelly
Risk Management Director
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
NCACC
215 N. Dawson St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-719-1124
Fax: 919-733-1065
michael.kelly@ncacc.org
NC LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES
Mr. Kenneth G. Canning Jr. VICE CHAIRMAN
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Associate Executive Director RMS
NCLM Risk Management Services
308 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-715-4000
kcanning@nclm.org
NC SHERIFFS ASSOCIATION
Sheriff Len Hagaman
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Watauga County Sheriff Office
184 Hodges Gap Road
Boone, NC 28607
Telephone: 828-265-7600
Fax: 828-265-7617
len.hagaman@watgov.org
NC POLICE CHIEFS AND NC POLICE EXECUTIVES ASSN.
Chief James Avens
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
Weldon Police Department
111 Washington Avenue
Weldon, NC 27890
Telephone 252-536-3136
Fax: 252-536-0755
chiefavenswpd@gmail.com
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Mr. Jackie F. Ireland, Jr.
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Anders, Ireland, Marshall, Inc
P. O. Box 12825
Raleigh, NC 27605
Telephone: 919-755-1401
Fax: 919-755-1125
jireland@vfisnc.com
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Mr. Robert Broome Jr.
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
Broome Associates
630 4th Street SW
P.O. Box 3858
Hickory, NC 28602
Telephone: 828-328-5671
Fax: 828-328-6166
jireland@vfisnc.com
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
Mr. Michael Ruffin
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
587 Georgetown Drive, NW
Concord, NC 28027
Fax: 704-457-5210
mruffin@outlook.com
PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE
Sheriff Graham H. Atkinson
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Surry County Sheriff Office
218 North Main Street
Dobson, NC 27017
Telephone: 336-401-8900
Fax: 336-401-8909
atkinson@co.surry.nc.us
EX OFFICIO MEMBERS
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
Mr. J. Thomas Sutton, III CHAIRMAN
W. A. Moore Insurance
3213 Evans St.
Morehead City, NC 28557
Telephone: 252-527-1147
Fax: 252-527-2090
tsutton7@ec.rr.com
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE
Ms. Melody Hairston
Dept. of Justice
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-9001
Telephone: 919-662-4500
Fax:
mhairston@ncdoj.gov
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Will Polk, Special Counsel
NC Department of Public Safety
4201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4201
Telephone: 919-825-2706
Fax: 919-733-0296
will.polk@ncdps.gov