Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 

Risk Management

HURRICANE DORIAN

Resources:

Contacts:

Bryan K. Heckle
Director
919-647-0059
bryan.heckle@ncdoi.gov

Richard Bolyard
Loss Control and Claims Specialist
919-647-0070
richard.bolyard@ncdoi.gov

POELIC

Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission

Background & Mission

The POELIC was created by the Legislature in 1979, following a study commission of the need of law enforcement personnel and local governments for professional liability insurance. This Commission has broad power for public official & law enforcement liability coverages and meets on a quarterly basis to carry out its responsibilities.

This Commission also has statutory responsibility for excess liability insurance covering state, university, and community college employees which are covered under the Defense of State Employees Act, Article 31A of NCGS 143.

All Commission members are appointed and are not paid salaries. The Risk Management Division of the Department of Insurance provides staff, conducts research, and performs administrative duties for this Commission.

Statutory Regulations

NCGS 58-32-1 to 58-32-30 – Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission (Article 32)

COMMISSION MEMBERS
NC ASSN. OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
Mr. Michael Kelly
Risk Management Director NCACC
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
NCACC
215 N. Dawson St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-719-1124
Fax: 919-733-1065
michael.kelly@ncacc.org
NC LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES
Mr. Thomas A. Anderson, Jr.
Term Expires: 6-30-2023
Associate Executive Director RMS
Safety Risk Management
434 Fayetteville Street, Suite 1900
Raleigh, NC 27601
Telephone: 919-715-2573
Cell: 919-704-517-8496 tanderson@nclm.org
NC SHERIFFS ASSOCIATION
Sheriff Len Hagaman
Term Expires: 6-30-2023
Watauga County Sheriff Office
184 Hodges Gap Road
Boone, NC 28607
Telephone: 828-265-7600
Fax: 828-265-7617
len.hagaman@watgov.org
NC POLICE CHIEFS AND NC POLICE EXECUTIVES ASSN.
Chief James E. Avens, Jr., MS
Deoputy Chief of Police
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
Elizabeth City Police Department
305 East Main Street
Elizabeth City NC 27909
Telephone 252-621-7104
Fax: 252-338-0128
javens@cityofec.com
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Mr. Jackie F. Ireland, Jr., VICE CHAIR
Term Expires: 6-30-2023
Anders, Ireland, Marshall, Inc
P. O. Box 12825
Raleigh, NC 27605
Telephone: 919-755-1401
Fax: 919-755-1125
jireland@vfisnc.com
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Mr. Robert Broome Jr.
Term Expires: 6-30-2021
Broome Associates
630 4th Street SW
P.O. Box 3858
Hickory, NC 28602
Telephone: 828-328-5671
Fax: 828-328-6166
robert@broome-associates.com/a>
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
Ms. Michelle J. O'Connor
Term Expires: 6-30-2023
O'Connor Insurance Associates, Inc.
1973 JN Pease Place, Suite 203
Charlotte, NC 28262
Cell: 704-510-8884 Fax: 704-510-8850
michelle@oianc.com
PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE
Mr. Owen J. Thomas
Term Expires: 6-30-2023
1701 N. Chestnut Street
Lumberton, NC 28358
Telephone: 919-889-2514
Fax: 919-521-1204
othomas@ci.lumberton.nc.us
EX OFFICIO MEMBERS
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
Mr. J. Thomas Sutton, III CHAIRMAN
W. A. Moore Insurance
3213 Evans St.
Morehead City, NC 28557
Telephone: 252-527-1147
Fax: 252-527-2090
tsutton7@ec.rr.com
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE
Ms. Melody Hairston
Dept. of Justice
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-9001
Telephone: 919-716-6820
Fax:
mhairston@ncdoj.gov
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Will Polk, Special Counsel
NC Department of Public Safety
4201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4201
Telephone: 919-825-2706
Fax: 919-733-0296
will.polk@ncdps.gov