Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic

Life and Health

Contact Information

Life and Health Directory

Ted Hamby
Deputy Commissioner
919-807-6055

Directs and monitors insurance laws pertaining to life and health insurance, policy form and rate approval, and operational efficiencies.
Joanna Pelezo
Administrative Assistant
919-807-6056
Joanna.Pelezo@ncdoi.gov
Joanna provides support to the Deputy Commissioner.
Jean W. Holliday
Regulatory Project Manager/Health Care Reform Supervisor
919-807-6061
Jean.Holliday@ncdoi.gov
Jean assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in the federal Affordable Care Act, HIPAA, and Small Employer Group Health. Additionally, she is the primary resource for projects and work assignments delegated by the Department's Technical Services Group Senior Management and the Chief Deputy.
Garlinda C. Taylor
Supervisor
919-807-6059
Garlinda.Taylor@ncdoi.gov
Garlinda assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in Medicare Supplement, Medicare Select, Medicare Advantage certification, Retiree Coverage Plans, Long-Term Care (LTC), HMO licensing, Provider Networks and Managed Care Agreements, MEWA licensing, Dental, and Managed Care product filings.
Rebecca Hill
Supervisor
919-807-6060
Rebecca.Hill@ncdoi.gov
Rebecca assists in the planning and development of life and health operations. Supervising an analyst team specializing in Life, Blanket, Limited Health and Disability Insurance, Stop Loss Insurance, Association Group, TPA Registration and Licensing, and Viatical Settlements forms.
Wanda Carden
Administrative Assistant
919-807-6057
Wanda.Carden@ncdoi.gov
Wanda provides PPACA support to the Life and Health Division.
Cara Shackelford
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6064
Cara.Shackelford@ncdoi.gov
Cara is the primary contact for Credit Life and Credit Health form and rate filings and Charitable Gift Annuities.
Yolanda Fonville
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6071
Yolanda.Fonville@ncdoi.gov
Yolanda is the primary contact for health care reform, general health and disability questions.
Phyllis Wyrick
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6069
Phyllis.Wyrick@ncdoi.gov
Phyllis is a contact for HMO licensing, license modifications; notifications; initial PPO network filings; PPO network addition filings; review and approval of HMO and PPO provider, intermediary, management form contracts, Medicare Select Operational Filings, and primary contact for MEWA filings.
Snezana Vukina
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6068
Snezana.Vukina@ncdoi.gov
Snezana is a contact for HMO licensing, license modifications; notifications; initial PPO network filings; PPO network addition filings; review and approval of HMO and PPO provider, intermediary, management form contracts, and primary contact for Medical Service Corporations form filings.
Rosemary Gillespie
Senior Health Care Reform Analyst
919-807-6070
Rosemary.Gillespie@ncdoi.gov
Rosemary is the lead analyst on the federal Affordable Care Act form and rate submissions. In addition, she is the primary contact for HMO, POS, and PPO and Small Employer Group form and rate submissions.
Micheal DiPierro
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6073
Michael.DiPierro@ncdoi.gov
Micheal is the primary contact for information on LTC form and rate filings, including LTC Partnership form and rate filings.
Don McAdams
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6063
Don.McAdams@ncdoi.gov
Don is the primary contact for general life form and rate filings and Third Party Administrator and Viatical Settlement Provider licensing.
Mary Jo Wegenast
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6065
MaryJo.Wegenast@ncdoi.gov
Mary Jo is the primary contact for Medicare Supplement form and rate filings, Medicare Select product filings, and Retiree Coverage Plans.
Edna Cross
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6066
Edna.Cross@ncdoi.gov
Edna is the primary contact for TPAs and general health form and rate filings.
Janet Streb
Policy & Rate Analyst
919-807-6067
Janet.Streb@ncdoi.gov
Janet is a contact for General Accident or Health Insurance Questions

Address

Mailing Address for Standard Mail:
Life and Health Division
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201

Physical Office Location Address for In Person, Certified and Overnight Mail:
Dobbs Building
430 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27603