For Immediate Release: March 28, 2011

Insurance Commissioner Goodwin Meets with Agent Advisory Committee

RALEIGH -- Insurance Commissioner Wayne Goodwin announced today the newly appointed members of the Agent Advisory Committee.

The purpose of the Agent Advisory Committee is to give the Commissioner of Insurance and the agent community a chance to come together in a working environment to discuss matters that affect the insurance industry and consumers in the state of North Carolina. Commissioner Goodwin first established the committee in 2009.

"This committee gives agents a voice in the regulatory process surrounding the business of insurance in North Carolina," Commissioner Goodwin said. "It's important for me to come face-to-face with representatives from the agent community so that we can have an open dialogue about the insurance-related issues affecting those who live and work in our state."

Committee members are independent and captive agents selected from three regions-East, Piedmont and West-who are appointed by the Commissioner of Insurance. The group had its first meeting on March 18 and is scheduled to meet four times a year.

"I thank each of the members for participating on this committee and look forward to working closely with them over the coming year," said Goodwin.

Committee Members (Terms Expiring December 2011)::

Committee Chair: Pat Molamphy, CLU, ChFC, Nationwide Agent, Rockingham, Albemarle, Locust

Sara Donaldson, LTCP, President of Sara Donaldson Insurance Agency, Inc., State Farm Agent, Pittsboro

Former state Rep. Leslie Cox, Bankingport, Inc., Sanford

Cameron M. Harris, Owner of Cameron M. Harris & Company, Charlotte

Charlotte S. Hicks, CPA, CIC, AAI, CWCA, ARM, Glasgow Hicks Insurance Agency, a member of Aquesta Insurance Services, Wilmington

Jackie F. Ireland, Jr., CIC, AAI, President of Independent Insurance Agents of N.C., Vice President of Anders, Ireland & Marshall, Inc., Raleigh

Thomas W. Frazier, III, CPCU, CIC, President of Wester Realty & Insurance Agency, Inc., Henderson

Betsy J. Lane, Betsy Lane State Farm Insurance, Murphy

Jody Brown, President of LifeStore Insurance, West Jefferson

Luther Carter, Jr., LUTCF, Owner of Carter Insurance and Financial Services, Inc., Allstate, Charlotte

Wade S. Dunbar, III, President of Wade S. Dunbar Company, Laurinburg

Harry Q. Fitzgerald, Senior Vice President of BB&T Insurance Services, Winston-Salem

Raife Davis, Owner of General Insurance Services, Inc., Asheville

Bo Walker, CPCU, CIC, President of Walker Rovinson Clark Insurance, Statesville

Committee Members (Terms Expiring December 2012):

Committee Vice Chair: Linda Willey, Co-owner and Vice President of The Willey Agency, Nags Head

Eddie Alejandro, LUTCF, Farm Bureau Insurance Agent, Boone

C. Kenneth Melvin, NC Farm Bureau Agent, Rockingham

Chris Copley, Nationwide Associate Agent, Durham

Bill Vogedes, CPCU, AAI, CBIA, President of Vogedes Insurance Agency, Inc., Edenton, Kitty Hawk

R. J. Myrick, Co-owner of Roanoke Valley Insurance, Roanoke Rapids

Cedric Dickerson, State Farm Insurance Agent, Wilmington