For Immediate Release: April 4, 2012

Insurance Commissioner Names 2012 P&C Advisory Committee Members

RALEIGH -- Insurance Commissioner Wayne Goodwin announced today the newly appointed members of the Property and Casualty Agent Advisory Committee.

The purpose of the Property and Casualty Agent Advisory Committee is to give the Commissioner of Insurance and the agent community a chance to come together in a working environment to discuss matters that affect the insurance industry and consumers in the state of North Carolina. Goodwin first established the committee in 2009.

"This committee gives agents and industry experts a voice in the regulatory process surrounding the business of insurance in North Carolina,” Goodwin said. “It’s important for me to meet face-to-face with insurance industry representatives so that we can have an open dialogue about insurance-related issues affecting those who live and work in our state."

The committee members are independent and captive agents and insurance experts selected from three regions — East, Piedmont and West — who are appointed by the Commissioner of Insurance. The new committee is scheduled to meet four times a year.

"I thank each of the members for participating on this committee and look forward to working closely with them over the coming year," said Goodwin.

Committee Members (Terms Expiring December 2012):

Committee Chair: Linda Willey – J. Fletcher Willey Agency, Nags Head

Eddie Alejandro – North Carolina Farm Bureau, Boone

James Alexander – Hanover Excess and Surplus, Charlotte

Neil Annas – Granite Insurance Agency, Granite Falls

Leamon Clemmons – Brunswick Insurance, Supply

Chris Copley Agency – Nationwide Insurance, Durham

Skeeter Curtis – Insurance Specialist (Retired), Canton

Cedric Dickerson – State Farm, Wilmington

Stewart Farris – Jackson Sumner & Associates, Boone

Tom Hackney – John Hackney Agency, Wilson

Jim Holland – Maxwell B. Hamrick Insurance Agency, Shelby

Kathy Lance – L. N. Davis Company, Waynesville

Chris McLeod – Smart Choice, Greensboro

C. Kenneth Melvin – North Carolina Farm Bureau, Rockingham

R. J. Myrick – Roanoke Valley Insurance, Roanoke Rapids

David Neville – Triangle Insurance, Smithfield

Rick Pegram – AIANC, Charlotte

Necota Smith, Jr. – State Farm, Greensboro

Kevin Stanberry – Stanberry Insurance, Waynesville

Bill Vogedes – Vogedes Insurance Agency, Edenton

Lynna Wier–Coward – Risk Managers, Ayden