Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic

We have moved to the Albemarle Building on 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC. Our mailing address will still be 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202. Please call our main number for assistance – 919-647-0000.

Engineering and Codes

Engineering and Codes » NCHILB » Contacts

Home Inspector Licensure Board - Contacts

HILB - Committees

Committee Members FY 2017-2018

Application Evaluation Committee:
Chair: Waverly Sawyer, Joe Ramsey, Arthur Hall, Terri Tart (Staff)

  • Equivalent experience; reciprocity; criminal history

Examination Committee:
Chair: Rob Roegner, Arthur Hall, Jennifer Hollyfield (Staff)

  • Exam questions - review, challenge, letter response
  • Exam question bank development/expansion

Finance Committee:
Chair: Connie Corey, Fred Herndon, Jennifer Hollyfield (Staff)

  • FY 2014 / 2015 Budget execution
  • FY 2015 / 2016 Budget development

Legislative Committee:
Chair: Fred Herndon, Connie Corey, Jennifer Hollyfield (Staff)

  • General Assembly: Long & Short Sessions - Bills / Statute Changes
  • Rules Review Commission & Office of Administrative Hearings / Rule Changes
  • Ethics Commission

Education Committee:
Chair: Fred Herndon, Rob Roegner, John Gainey, Jennifer Hollyfield (Staff)

  • 48 hrs Continuing Education requirements of G.S. 143-151.64
  • Update Course development and approval
  • Pre-licensing Program Sponsor review & approvals

Standards of Practice/Rules and Interpretations Committee:
John Gainey, Rob Roegner, Fred Herndon, Jennifer Hollyfield (Staff)

  • NC General Statutes (changes in law)
  • NC Administrative Code (changes in agency rules)
  • Interpretations
  • Recommended Language
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Investigation Review Committee:
Chair: John Gainey, Arthur Hall, Rob Roegner (Staff)

  • Review Investigation Reports with sufficient evidence to support complaint allegations of violations
  • Review appeals for Staff findings of insufficient evidence.
  • Recommend Consent Agreement terms and conditions
  • Recommend scheduling of Disciplinary Hearings
  • Action against unlicensed entities

Personnel Committee: (meets on an as-needed basis only)
Chair: Butch Upton, Waverly Sawyer

Advisory Committee(s):

New Licensee Report Audit Committee:
Butch Upton, Chair, Staff, Mike Hejduk

  • Review Investigation Reports and Contracts for New Licensees

Budget Advisory Committee (1 to 3 Years):
Chair: Joe Ramsey, Arthur Hall, Rob Roegner (Staff), Eric Coates (At Large)