Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic
 

Risk Management

POELIC

Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission

Background & Mission

The POELIC was created by the Legislature in 1979, following a study commission of the need of law enforcement personnel and local governments for professional liability insurance. This Commission has broad power for public official & law enforcement liability coverages and meets on a quarterly basis to carry out its responsibilities.

This Commission also has statutory responsibility for excess liability insurance covering state, university, and community college employees which are covered under the Defense of State Employees Act, Article 31A of NCGS 143.

All Commission members are appointed and are not paid salaries. The Risk Management Division of the Department of Insurance provides staff, conducts research, and performs administrative duties for this Commission.

Statutory Regulations

NCGS 58-32-1 to 58-32-30 – Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission (Article 32)

COMMISSION MEMBERS
NC ASSN. OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
Mr. Michael Kelly
Risk Management Director
Term Expires: 6-30-2017
NCACC
215 N. Dawson St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-719-1124
Fax: 919-733-1065
michael.kelly@ncacc.org
NC LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES
Mr. Robert G. Haynes
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
NCLM Risk Management Services
P.O. Box 1310
Raleigh, NC 27602
Telephone: 919-715-2900
Fax: 919-301-1036
bhaynes@nclm.org
NC SHERIFFS ASSOCIATION
Sheriff Len Hagaman
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Watauga County Sheriff Office
184 Hodges Gap Road
Boone, NC 28607
Telephone: 828-265-7600
Fax: 828-265-7617
len.hagaman@watgov.org
NC POLICE CHIEFS AND NC POLICE EXECUTIVES ASSN.
Chief Marty A. Sumner
Term Expires: 6-30-2017
High Point Police Department
1009 Leonard Ave.
High Point, NC 27260
Telephone 336-887-7970
Fax: 336-887-7949
marty.sumner@highpoint.nc.gov
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Vacant
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF NC
Mr. Jackie F. Ireland, Jr.
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Anders, Ireland, Marshall, Inc
P. O. Box 12825
Raleigh, NC 27605
Telephone: 919-755-1401
Fax: 919-755-1125
jireland@vfisnc.com
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE
Mr. John M. Causey
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
2876 Causey Lake Rd.
Greensboro, NC 27406
Telephone: (336)210-1947
Fax:
gocausey@aol.com
PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE
Sheriff Graham H. Atkinson
Term Expires: 6-30-2019
Surry County Sheriff Office
218 North Main Street
Dobson, NC 27017
Telephone: 336-401-8900
Fax: 336-401-8909
atkinson@co.surry.nc.us
EX OFFICIO MEMBERS
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
Mr. J. Thomas Sutton, III
W. A. Moore Insurance
P. O. Box 5369
Kinston, NC 28503
Telephone: 252-527-1147
Fax: 252-527-2090
tsutton@wamooreins.com
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE
Mrs. Staci Meyer
Dept. of Justice
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-9001
Telephone: 919-662-4500
Fax:
stmeyer@ncdoj.gov
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Will Polk, Special Counsel
NC Department of Public Safety
4201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4201
Telephone: 919-825-2706
Fax: 919-733-0296
will.polk@ncdps.gov