banner
banner
banner

ATV Safety for Teachers

Did you know…

  • Since 1999, there have been nearly 200 ATV-related deaths in North Carolina.
  • In 2005, North Carolina's ATV Law went into effect that requires safety training and regulates who can ride ATVs. The new law requires that children must be at least 8 years old to legally operate an ATV. They must also ride the ATV that is appropriately sized for their age.
    • 8 to 11-year-olds -- under 70cc engine
    • 12 to 15-year-olds -- 70 to 90cc engine
    • 16-year-olds and older -- over 90cc engine
  • Non-compliance is subject to a fine of $200; however, the law does not apply to the operation of ATVs when used for farm purposes or for hunting or trapping.

Use these tips to ensure that you and the children in your care are safe while riding ATVs:

  • Children under 18 must be continuously supervised by an adult while riding an ATV.
  • No rider may carry a passenger, except on machines specifically designed to do so.
  • Riders must wear helmets and face protection.
  • ATVs may not be operated on public streets, roads or highways, except for purposes of crossing.
  • Effective Oct. 1, 2006, all riders born on or after Jan. 1, 1990 must possess a safety certificate indicating successful completion of an ATV safety course sponsored or approved by the ATV Safety Institute.

For more information, please visit the following websites:

Videos: